Too much Harry Potter

One of my great “simple pleasures” in life is reading for fifteen or thirty minutes in bed before turning off the light.  I went through a phase during internship during which I would intentionally read until I was falling asleep over my book, but I’ve moved on.  Nowadays, when I realize I will drift off to sleep in less than a minute, I close the book, turn off the lamp, lie on my side with my lower hand under the pillow, and let my eyelids close. (For some reason I always sleep with my back toward the wall.)

The other night, I read a few pages in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire.  I awoke to my alarm at 0515 the next morning, though it wasn’t until later in the day that I remembered the dream I was having.  Some friends and I were in an unfamiliar city.  We decided to have a picnic in a park.  A couple of us went to the grocery store to pick up food, but I didn’t buy anything, as I planned to just conjure up some food.

It wasn’t until I was on my way back to the park that I realized I didn’t know any spells to conjure up food, and that was a little distressing.

I’ve also been told that it’s vain to talk to others about one’s dreams.  A blog, to me, can be a very vain thing.  Thus, this is a good place to write about it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Literature, Musings

Leave a Reply

