Shabbat Shalom

The elevator doors closed

the little cube of a room

I’d raced into after seeing

them open on their own.

And once inside, the yellow ceiling light

and the polished warm-hued trim reflected

the small orange button I pushed

for floor 10.

Only when the miniature fires inside

buttons 3 and 4

lit themselves

did I realize I had boarded the

Sabbath elevator

and thought that seven extra stops

made for a nice number,

an unexpected rabbinical ride.

~

This vertical ride, I thought,

reminded me too of the subways,

just off by 90 degrees or so,

when the express train

snakes local,

and nobody bothers to tell me in advance

that the A train leaving Harlem’s 125th

would stop at 116th, and 110th & 103rd of course,

and fail to bypass 96th

before slowing at pleasant 86th Street,

and pausing at 81st to drop off

museum goers anxious to see the dinosaur fossils.

And what’s one more stop at 72nd

before reaching the usual Columbus Circle-59th?

I will never look at these

seven extra stations the same way

but will instead offer a quiet prayer of thanks

for their underground burrows

teeming with rivet and rodent and tile.

~

Indeed, life offers many

unexpected stops–many knots along its

coiled rope of time.

Perhaps if I could roll the paired dice

of urim and thummim,

I could always avoid the flight

with the unanticipated layover,

the homeless man around the corner

who will ask me for a quarter,

even the slow line at the grocery store

that looks deceptively short.

No, it may be better

to savor these little hiccoughs–

despite their sour taste–

and to realize that interruptions

are life,

even if it’s the M60 bus

hobbling from block to block,

its engine wheezing as it traces

its Parkinsonian route.

~

And so the elevator

groaned and shuddered,

yawning at every floor

with a breath as invisible

as every Cohen and Shapiro

that rode with me that evening.

And with the seven stops,

I thought of suffering and blessing,

of scrolls and incense,

and considered a wish of

“Mazel tov”

to my patient soon to give birth upstairs.

3 Comments

Filed under Poetry

3 responses to “Shabbat Shalom

  1. I meant to credit C.S. Lewis with the idea that the interruptions in one’s life *are* one’s life.

  2. Anonymous

    it’s so true, and thanks for reminding us so eloquently and beautifully. I think Jack would be pleased 🙂
    but… is it okay to single out the names Cohen and Shapiro? Is that racist?
    laf

  3. I did wonder about mentioning names that are stereotypically Jewish. I think it’s not racist, because racism encompasses the idea that one race is superior, and it connotes hatred toward another race. I think you will find neither of those ideas here.

    What you will find are rather cheap stereotypes. I suppose I wrote it from the perspective of an outsider who has encountered many aspects of Jewish culture here in New York over the last couple of years. As an outsider, I intentionally resorted to names and images that people generally consider Jewish. That was my intent, because the entire poem was inspired by a ride in the Sabbath elevator.

Leave a comment